first_imgHer elevation marked a long road from her early career as a teacher. She spent two years working in schools in the mid-1970s before going into exile in 1976 and spending more than a decade as an ANC official in Tanzania, Kenya, Botswana and Zimbabwe. Safety and Security – Nathi Mthethwa Parliament on Thursday elected Motlanthe President of South Africa, a position he will hold until the country’s next elections in 2009. Thabo Mbeki resigned as President on Sunday after being asked to do so by the national executive committee of the African National Congress (ANC). New Deputy President Communications – Roy Padayachie Finance – Trevor Manuel Deputy ministers Correctional Services – L Jacobus Water Affairs and Forestry – Lindiwe Hendricks Social Development – Zola Skweyiya Mbete returned to South Africa in 1990 to join the ANC’s interim leadership, and was instrumental in re-establishing the party’s women’s league. She also served as ANC secretary-general from 1991 to 1993. Elected as an ANC MP in 1994, she became a key player in the constitutional assembly that drafted South Africa’s Constitution in 1996, as well as a member of the presidential panel on the country’s Truth and Reconciliation Commission. Health – Barbara Hogan Labour – Membathisi Mdladlana 26 September 2008 Communications – Ivy Matsepe-Casaburri Arts and Culture – Pallo Jordan Minister in the Presidency – Manto Tshabalala-Msimang Defence – Charles Nqakula Health – M Sefularo Would you like to use this article in your publication or on your website? See: Using SAinfo material Provincial and Local Government – S Shiceka She was promoted from Deputy Speaker to Speaker of Parliament in April 2004, replacing another woman, Frene Ginwala, who had held the post since 1994. Ministers who retained their positions Trade and Industry – Mandisi Mphalwa Foreign Affairs – Aziz Pahad Education – Naledi Pandor Intelligence – Siyabonga Cwele Trade and Industry – Dr RH Davies Justice and Constitutional Development – Enver Surty Defence – F Bhengu Sport and Recreation – Makhenkesi Stofile Transport – Jeff Radebecenter_img Minerals and Energy – Buyelwa Sonjica Environmental Affairs and Tourism – Rejoice Mabudafhasi Foreign Affairs – Sue van der Merwe Another three of Mbeki’s ministers were given new portfolios, with Charles Nqakula moving from safety and security to defence, to replace Mosiuoa Lekota; Brigitte Mabandla moving from justice to public enterprises, to replace Alec Erwin; and Manto Tshabalala-Msimang taking over from Essop Pahad as minister in the Presidency. Housing – Lindiwe Sisulu ANC MP Barbara Hogan takes over from Tshabalala-Msimang as South Africa’s new minister of health – a decision welcomed by civil society organisation the Treatment Action Campaign (TAC), which frequently clashed with Tshabalala-Msimang over her implemenation of South Africa’s policies on HIV/Aids. Foreign Affairs – Nkosazana-Dlamini Zuma Public Enterprises – Brigitte Mabandla Home Affairs – Noziviwe Mapisa-Nqakula Trade and Industry – Elizabeth Thabethe Correctional Services – Ngconde Balfour Science and Technology – Derek Hanekom Safety and Security – Susan Shabangu Agriculture and Land Affairs – DC du Toit New ministers Eighteen ministers retained their positions under the new President, including Manuel, Nkosazana Dlamini-Zuma (foreign affairs), Mandisi Mphalwa (trade and industry), Buyelwa Sonjica (minerals and energy), Thoko Didiza (agriculture), Membathisi Mdladlana (labour) and Naledi Pandor (education). (See the full list below.) Public Service and Administration – R Baloyi Baleka Mbete, 58, is an experienced political operator who has worked her way up through the ranks of the African National Congress (ANC). Social Development – J Swanson-Jacobs Justice and Constitutional Development – Johnny de Lange Home Affairs – KMN Gigaba Provincial and Local Government – Nomatyala Hangana Agriculture and Land Affairs – Thoko Didiza South African President-elect Kgalema Motlanthe announced his new Cabinet on Thursday, retaining the majority of ministers who served under the previous administration – including Finance Minister Trevor Manuel – while appointing Speaker of Parliament Baleka Mbete as the country’s new Deputy President. Public Works – Dr NM Kganyago Public Works – Geoff Doidge Sport and Recreation – Gert Oosthuizen Environmental Affairs and Tourism – Marthinus van Schalkwyk Arts and Culture – NGW Botha SAinfo reporter and BuaNews Science and Technology – Mosibudi Mangenalast_img

South Africa’s new Cabinet

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *