first_imgNigerian Table Tennis star, Aruna Quadri and female wrestling sensation, Odunayo Adekuoroye, both emerged the sports man and woman of the year in the Nigerian Sports Awards 2017.​The duo emerged the star of the night at a grand ceremony of the 6th edition of the NSA which held at the Banquet Hall of Eko Hotel and Suites, Lagos and was well attended by sport personalities including ex-internationals, administrators, media personnel and other dignitaries in Nigeria.Super Eagles winger and Chelsea FC stalwart, Victor Moses, emerged Footballer of the Year in the male category beating off competition from Stephen Odey and Anthony Okpotu, while star player of the Super Falcons and Dalian Quanjian FC of China, Asisat Oshoala picked up the award for the best female footballer of the year. She beats off competition from Ebi Onome and Rashedat Ajibade. The award is coming shortly after Oshoala similarly won the Golden Boot award in the Chinese women league. D’Tigress Star, Evelyn Akhator was crowned the Ball Sport Person of the year, after her performances at the FIBA Championship 2017 which steered her team to glory while D’Tigress were also rewarded by winning the team of the year.The organisers admitted it was a tough call to make between Akinwunmi Ambode (Lagos State) and Emmanuel Udom of Akwa Ibom, for the Best Sport Governor of the Year award as both of them have contributed immensely to the growth of sports in their respective states. They were both crowned as joint winner of that sports governor of the year category.Vice President, Africa Table Tennis Federation (ATTF), Waheed Enitan Oshodi and a President of the Nigerian Wrestling Federation, Daniel Igali, were both rewarded for their stewardship with the Sports Administrator of the Year award.Sixteen-year-old golfer, Georgia Oboh, picked up the Discovery of the Year award while Hannah Babalola was crowned the Special Sports Person of the year.Adekuoroye emerged wrestler of the year which makes her the only athlete to pick up two awards in the event, while her long-time coach Akoh Purity picked up the Coach of the year.In the Journalism category, Toni Berekedemo of Brilla FM emerged sports journalist of the year for radio; Promise Efoghe of Television Continental (TVC) for TV sports journalist of the year, the Photo Journalist of the year award went to Olusegun Aderinto, while Olalekan Okusan of The Nation newspaper won the award for the best sport journalist print for the second year running having won it last year.Also Nigerian Football Federation, NFF, President, Amaju Pinnick and Veteran Sports Broadcaster Fabio Olanipekun were presented award for special recognition and lifetime achievement.Share this:FacebookRedditTwitterPrintPinterestEmailWhatsAppSkypeLinkedInTumblrPocketTelegramlast_img

Quadri, Adekuoroye Dominate 2017 Nigerian Sports Award

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *